myNCBA Member Profile

Join NCBA Today

Citizen Lawyers

The Citizen Lawyer Committee promotes the public service of attorneys in North Carolina through the Citizen Lawyer Award, which recognizes and thanks lawyers who exemplify the ideals of a citizen lawyer: public service in appointed and elected positions, work with non-profit charitable and political organizations, military service and volunteering with youth sports programs and with religious organizations.

To learn more about the Citizen Lawyer Award, please access this brief video. (Link to CL video)

Nominations are due annually on Dec. 15. Here is the current nomination form. (Link to pdf)

The 2014 recipients of the NCBA Citizen Lawyer Award were honored in June at the NCBA Annual Meeting in Wilmington. The recipients are:

Brent D. Barringer, Cary (each recipient will have a block of content that includes a brief bio, photo, link to online poster and link to YLD article)

  • Judge C. Christopher Bean, Edenton
  • Kathryn A. Deiter-Maradei, Raleigh
  • Timothy D. Edwards, Fayetteville
  • Garland Graham, Greensboro
  • George V. Hanna III, Charlotte
  • Heather R. Klein, Sparta
  • John W. Lassiter, Charlotte
  • Joseph P. McGuire, Asheville
  • Charles H. Montgomery, Cary
  • Nancy Borders Paschall, Gastonia
  • Marshall B. Pitts Jr., Fayetteville
  • Deborah K. Ross, Raleigh
  • Michael F. Royster, Pilot Mountain
  • Gemma L. Saluta, Winston-Salem
  • Michael G. Winters, Raleigh
  • Julian H. Wright Jr., Charlotte
  • Georgiana L. Yonuschot, Winston-Salem
  • Sarah Zambon, HendersonvilleĀ 

The NCBA Citizen Lawyer Award has been presented since 2007. Here is a list of the previous recipients, by county. (link to pdf of previous winners; this needs to be updated every year by staff liaison)