Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Criminal Justice Presents Awards

Criminal Justice Presents Awards

Howard Neumann, right, accepts award from Doug Henderson.

The North Carolina Bar Association Criminal Justice Section presented the 11th Annual Peter S. Gilchrist III & Wade M. Smith Awards on Jan. 31 at the Embassy Suites in Cary.

The recipients were Howard P. Neumann, former Guilford County chief assistant district attorney, who received the Gilchrist Award, and Claire J. Rauscher of Womble Bond Dickinson in Charlotte, who received the Smith Award.

The Criminal Justice Section presents its awards to an outstanding prosecutor (Gilchrist Award) and defense attorney (Smith Award). The awards are named for their initial recipients, former Mecklenburg County District Attorney Peter Gilchrist and renowned defense attorney Wade Smith of Raleigh.

Patrick Weede, section chair, presided.

The Gilchrist Award was presented by retired Guilford County District Attorney Doug Henderson, with whom Neumann worked for much of his more than 30 years as an assistant district attorney.

For more on Howard Neumann, access this article from the News & Record.

Claire Rauscher accepts award from Jim Cooney.

The Smith Award was presented by Jim Cooney, a previous recipient and current law partner of Rauscher, who previously served as the first Federal Defender in the Western District of North Carolina.

For more on Claire Rauscher, access this article from the Womble Bond Dickinson website.

Photos from the event are accessible on Facebook via this link.

Here is a list of previous recipients:

Gilchrist Award Recipients
2017   W. Clark Everett, Greenville
2016   Howard J. Cummings, Raleigh
2015   Barton Menser, Charlotte
2014   Sandra J. Hairston, Greensboro
2013   James J. Coman, Raleigh
2012   Calvin W. Colyer, Fayetteville
2011   C. Colon Willoughby Jr., Raleigh
2010   William D. Kenerly, Salisbury
2009   Edward W. Grannis Jr., Fayetteville
2008   Peter S. Gilchrist III, Charlotte

Smith Award Recipients
2017   Michael A. Grace, Winston-Salem
2016   Sean P. Devereux, Asheville
2015   Thomas C. Manning, Raleigh
2014   Mark W. Owens Jr., Greenville
2013   Fredrick G. Lind, Greensboro
2012   James E. Ferguson, Charlotte
2011   Joseph B. Cheshire V, Raleigh
2010   James P. Cooney III, Charlotte
2009   Locke T. Clifford, Greensboro
2008   Wade M. Smith, Raleigh