Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Bluestein Receives Barrett Award

Bluestein Receives Barrett Award


The 2016 recipient of the Grainger Barrett Award for Excellence, presented by the Government & Public Sector Section of the North Carolina Bar Association, is Frayda Bluestein of the UNC School of Government.

The award was presented earlier this month during the section’s annual meeting.

Bluestein’s nomination was submitted by Judith Wegner of the UNC School of Law and Robert Hagemann, Charlotte city attorney.

“Frayda has been a highly regarded teacher who has provided instruction to hundreds of public officials and staff members throughout the state for a quarter-century,” her nominators wrote. “Her numerous publications have provided additional educational resources to support those who serve the public through involvement with local governments.”

Bluestein joined the School of Government in 1991 and is currently the David M. Lawrence Distinguished Professor of Public Law and Government and Associate Dean for Faculty Development. She previously served as a staff attorney for the General Assembly and practiced with Michael B. Brough & Associates.

“To have that kind of recognition from people I feel like are my equals and my colleagues is something that I really treasure,” Bluestein said. “It is a very meaningful honor to be singled out like this by my colleagues.”

During her 25 years at what was known as the Institute of Government when she started there, Bluestein has enjoyed a wealth of experiences as an assistant professor (1991-97), associate professor (1997-2001) and, since 2001, Professor of Public Law and Government.

“Frayda is widely recognized as among the School of Government’s most effective teachers,” her nominators stated. “She has played a crucial role in hiring, supporting and mentoring the increasingly diverse group of faculty members at the School, enhancing their effectiveness for the benefit of governments and government officials, particularly in the last decade.”

Bluestein says that no one experience stands out as her favorite part of working for the School of Government. Instead, she relishes the opportunity to work with people who are working for the betterment of North Carolina, providing the education and the resources that they need, often for free.

 “It really is the best of all possible worlds,” Bluestein said. “My colleagues are some of the smartest, most dedicated people I have ever worked with. It is a pleasure to be among them.”

Bluestein is a graduate of the University of California at Berkeley and the University of California at Davis School of Law.

The Government & Public Sector Section award is named for the late Grainger Barrett who served as county attorney for Cumberland County. Barrett died in 2009 and received the award posthumously in 2010, at which time it was named in his honor.

Previous recipients of the award are: M. Ann Reed (2001), Jo Anne Sanford (2003), John Stuart Bruce (2004), Gill P. Beck (2005), Dan McLawhorn (2006), Ann B. Wall (2007), Curtis B. Venable (2008), Jeffrey P. Gray (2009), Grainger R. Barrett (2010), James B. Blackburn III (2011),  M. Lynne Weaver and Philip A. Lehman (2012), Ellis Hankins (2014) and Chief Justice (ret.) Sarah Parker.