Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Health Law Section Honors Montgomery

Health Law Section Honors Montgomery

Renee Montgomery

The Health Law Section of the North Carolina Bar Association recently recognized Renee J. Montgomery of Raleigh as the 12th recipient of its Distinguished Service Award. The award was presented at the N.C. Bar Center on April 28 at the section’s annual meeting and CLE.

A partner with Parker Poe, Montgomery has been a leader in the health law community for more than 35 years. “Over the course of her career,” the nomination stated, “Renee has not only provided top-notch legal advice to her clients, she has also helped develop important precedent in areas such as Certificate of Need law, Medicaid provider due process rights, North Carolina government contracts and provider audits.

“Renee has also given back to the health care and administrative law bar through her service to the Health Law Section and the Administrative Law Section, as well as the North Carolina Society of Health Care Attorneys.”

Montgomery is a former section council member of both the Health Law Section and the Administrative Law Section, and a past president of the N.C. Society of Health Care Attorneys.

She received the Home Care and Hospice Hero Award from the Association for Home and Hospice Care of North Carolina in 2003, and in 2011 received that organization’s highest honor, the Doctor Ellen B. Winston Award.

Montgomery has served as president and master of the Braxton Inn of Court and as voluntary counsel for The Epilepsy Foundation of North Carolina.

She is a graduate of Duke University and the Duke University School of Law.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented as merited “in recognition of lifelong achievements and outstanding contributions to health law, and exemplary service to health care professionals, the bar and the general public.”

Previous recipients of the award are Roddey M. Ligon Jr. (1993), John Anderson Jr. (1995), Wendell H. Ott (1996), John G. Shaw (2003), Leighton P. Roper III (2008), Samuel O. Southern (2010), Lorelle J. Feezor (2011), Karen A. Gledhill (2012), Noah H. Huffstetler III (2013), Claire L. Moritz (2015) and Kenneth L. Burgess (2016).