Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Health Law Section Honors Moritz

Health Law Section Honors Moritz

Christy Gudaitis, right, presents award to Claire Moritz.

The Health Law Section of the North Carolina Bar Association has recognized Claire L. Moritz as the tenth recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

The award was presented on Thursday, April 23, at the section’s annual meeting and CLE at the N.C. Bar Center in Cary. Former section chairs Christy Gudaitis, who presented the award, and Robert L. Wilson Jr. submitted nominations on behalf of the recipient.

Moritz retired in January from her position as vice president for legal services at WakeMed following nearly 30 years of service as its only in-house general counsel.

“Over that period,” writes Gudaitis, “she has presided over very significant changes in the industry and her client. She has done so with great legal acumen, insight and collaboration with other health care attorneys.”

“Given the growth and complexity of WakeMed,” Wilson added, “and especially the unfathomable growth and complexity of the health care industry in general during this period of time, it is a remarkable – and even unique – testament to Claire’s extraordinary abilities that she successfully managed a one lawyer, one paralegal legal department in this unbelievable time of change.”

Moritz is a graduate of Boston University and Duke University School of Law, and currently serves on the Board of Visitors at Campbell Law School.

The award is presented as merited “in recognition of lifelong achievements and outstanding contributions to health law, and exemplary service to health care professionals, the bar and the general public.”

Previous recipients of the Health Law Section Distinguished Service Award are:
1993 – Roddey M. Ligon, Jr.
1995 – John Anderson, Jr.
1996 – Wendell H. Ott
2003 – John G. Shaw
2008 – Leighton P. Roper III
2010 – Samuel O. Southern
2011 – Lorelle J. Feezor
2012 – Karen A. Gledhill
2013 – Noah H. Huffstetler III