Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Leadership Academy Class Announced

Leadership Academy Class Announced

Sixteen outstanding young lawyers have been selected for the North Carolina Bar Association Leadership Academy’s Class of 2016. Attorneys selected for the Leadership Academy’s sixth class, with city of residence and place of business, are:

Lisa Arthur, Smith Moore Leatherwood, Greensboro
Nikki Feliciano, Pinto Coates Kyre & Bowers, Greensboro
Paul Griffin, The Select Group, Cary
Amanda Isaac, Milazzo Schaffer Webb Law, Charlotte
Tom Kelly, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, Raleigh
Ruth Levy, Williams Mullen, Raleigh
Gwen Lewis, Elon University School of Law, Greensboro
Isaac Linnartz, Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan, Raleigh
Alston Ludwig, McGuire, Wood & Bissette, Asheville
Sidney Minter, Teague Campbell Dennis & Gorham, Raleigh
Patrick Pait, Robeson County, Lumberton
Jane Paksoy, inVentive Health, Raleigh
Will Quick, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey &Leonard, Raleigh
Hilary  Ventura, Legal Aid of North Carolina., Morganton
Jason Walters, Davis & Hamrick, Winston-Salem
Hayley Wells, Ward and Smith, Asheville

The NCBA is partnering with Level Up Leadership of Raleigh to provide this year’s training, which will be delivered by Joy and Rich Ruhmann. This year’s Leadership Academy is made possible by the generous funding of Lawyers Mutual Liability Insurance Company of North Carolina in honor of NCBA Executive Director Allan Head.

The mission of the Leadership Academy is to help young lawyers become more effective leaders in their communities, whether their communities be the legal profession, their firms, legal departments and any other organizations with which they are associated, or their local, state, national or even international communities, or any other environments where lawyers regularly have calls or opportunities for leadership.

The Leadership Academy was implemented by the NCBA’s Young Lawyer Initiatives Task Force in 2011 during the tenure of President Gene Pridgen under the direction of Past-President Norfleet Pruden. Patti Ramseur and Roberta King Latham, former chairs of the Young Lawyers Division, serve as co-chairs of the NCBA Leadership Academy initiative.