Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Mock Trial Finals Held Dec. 10

Mock Trial Finals Held Dec. 10

Students from Wayne School of Engineering celebrate their state championship victory.

Wayne School of Engineering of Goldsboro (District Two), under the leadership of teacher Jesse Pittard, won the North Carolina Bar Association Foundation’s 2016-17 Justice Iredell Middle School Mock Trial State Finals.

The finals were held on Saturday, Dec. 10, at the Durham County Courthouse.

Competing in the finals were regional champions E. B. Aycock of Greenville (District One), Ligon Magnet Middle School of Raleigh, which won third place (Region Three), Southern Middle School of Aberdeen (Region Four), The Academy at Lincoln of Greensboro (Region Five), Ridge Road Middle School of Charlotte, which won second place (District 6), Millennium Charter of Mount Airy (Region Seven) and Cane Creek Middle School of Fletcher (Region Eight).

On behalf of the NCBAF Law-Related Education (LRE) Advisory Committee and the LRE Department, we extend tremendous thanks to the eight teams and dedicated volunteers for their participation at the tournament and to the parents and guests for their support at the state finals.

The Justice Iredell Middle School Mock Trial Tournament is an educational team program where middle school students have the opportunity to gain firsthand knowledge of civil/criminal law and courtroom procedures. Students representing attorneys and witnesses for both sides of a fictional case role play that case being tried in court.

A team led by a teacher is ideally composed of between six and 16 students, but can have more students on each team as alternates. The students are guided in their case through support of their teacher and attorney coaches. The program teaches the legal process and trial procedure. Hundreds of students participate each year.

The competition is orchestrated by the NCBA Foundation’s Law-Related Education Department and its Law-Related Education Advisory Committee.

Please contact Diane Wright, dwright@ncbar.org for additional information.