Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

YLD Officers Installed, Awards Presented

YLD Officers Installed, Awards Presented

Matt Cordell, left, passes gavel to Jason Walters.

The Young Lawyers Division of the North Carolina Bar Association celebrated in style at the 2017 NCBA Annual Meeting in Asheville. The YLD elected new officers for 2017-18 at its own annual meeting on Friday, June 23, and recognized outgoing officers and honorees at its awards luncheon on Saturday, June 24.

Judge Richard Dietz of the N.C. Court of Appeals was the featured speaker for the YLD Luncheon, where outgoing Chair Matt Cordell of Greensboro presided.

Jason Walters of Winston-Salem is the new YLD chair following the ceremonial passing of the gavel among all of the former chairs in attendance at the luncheon, including incoming President Caryn McNeill and outgoing President Kearns Davis.

Newly elected YLD officers are Rachel Blunk of Greensboro, chair-elect, Cabell Clay of Charlotte, secretary, and Kristen Kirby of Raleigh, ABA Administrative Director. Matt Cordell will now serve as immediate past chair.

Awards winners, from left, Will Quick, Catherine Lee, Cabell Clay, Rachel Blunk and Brooks Jaffa.

The Younger Lawyer Pro Bono Award was presented to Rachel Blunk, Cabell Clay and Brooks Jaffa of Charlotte for leading the NCBA’s volunteer response to Hurricane Matthew through the Disaster Legal Services hotline.

The Younger Lawyer Pro Bono Service Award was created in 2001 to promote pro bono activities among young or newly practicing attorneys. It is presented to a younger lawyer who has made extraordinary contributions by providing exemplary legal services without a fee to persons of limited means or to charitable groups or organizations.

The Charles F. Blanchard Young Lawyer of the Year Award was presented to Will Quick of Raleigh, and the Robinson O. Everett Professionalism Award to Catherine Lee of Raleigh.

The Blanchard Award was established to recognize young lawyers for their distinguished and meritorious service and is named in honor of Charles Blanchard, founding chair of the YLD who served in 1953-55.

The Everett Award was established in 2010 in honor of Judge Everett, a Duke law professor and former chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces who died in 2009. This year’s award was presented to solo practitioner Jake Epstein of Raleigh.