myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

2016 Mock Trial Regional Winners

2016 Mock Trial Regional Winners

The Law-Related Education Advisory Committee of the North Carolina Bar Association Foundation presented the sixth annual Justice Iredell Middle School Mock Trial Tournament on Friday, Nov. 4th, 2016, at ten courthouses throughout the state.

We are proud to announce the following eight N.C. regional winners who were invited to compete in the state finals on Saturday, Dec. 10th 2016, at the Durham County Courthouse:

 District                        School

   1               A. B. Aycock of Pitt County

   2               Wayne School of Engineering of Wayne County

   3               Ligon Magnet Middle School of Wake County

   4               Southern Middle School of Moore County

   5               Academy at Lincoln of Guilford County

   6               Ridge Road Middle School of Mecklenburg County

   7               Millennium Charter Academy of Surry County

   8               Cane Creek Middle School of Buncombe County


Listed below are the Most Effective Witness and Most Effective Attorney Awards nominated by the scoring judges for each trial, certificates will be mailed to their schools:

Alexander Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Quinn Cullen, Millennium Charter Academy

Madison Lawson, Millennium Charter Academy

Best Witnesses:

Calvin DeVore, Millennium Charter Academy

Brianna Banten, Millennium Charter Academy


Brunswick Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Malik Gordon, D. C. Virgo

Emma Congleton, Charles P. Murray MS

Best Witnesses:

Byron Byers, Charles P. Murray MS

Johnathan Merhige, Charles P. Murray MS.


Caldwell Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Peyton Walton, Green Valley School

Valerie Kitchell, Valle Crucis School

Haleigh Lawson, Bethel School

Parker Lawrence, Bethel

Best Witnesses:

Kazia Orkiszewski, Green Valley School

Sarah Goode, Valle Crucis School

Taylor Ward, Valle Crucis School

Eli Giles, Green Valley School


Durham Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Cari Kocher, Wake Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Maryam Guerrab, Wake Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Jennifer Ye & Rachel Fang (tied), Ligon GT Magnet

Shravya Sompalli, Carnage

Ethan Meyerhoffer, Ligon GT Magnet

Girija Joshi, Mills Park

Sean McDowell, Resurrection Lutheran

Sushrit Pasumarthy, Mills Park

Michael Austin, Resurrection Lutheran

Jasmin Lewis, Garner Road Community Center

Best Witnesses:

Gofran Alshwaiki, Wake Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Paul Kim, Carnage

Joshua Clark, Ligon GT Magnet

Dennis Chen, Carnage

Jasmin Lewis, Garner Road Community Center

Aniya Arnold, Moore Square Magnet

Dylan Tucker, Resurrection Lutheran

Alex Puerto, Mills Park

Kishen Anand, Mills Park

Sammarah Ortiz, Garner Road Community Center


Harnet Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

J. J. Marino – Salem MS

Ben Lance, Wake Forest MS

Rohan Kashyap – Salem MS

Saania Bhonsle – Salem MS

Best Witnesses:

Justin Hiss, Wake Forest MS

Rachel Bowers – Salem MS

Sydney Brown – Salem MS

Olivia Nash – Holly Grove MS


Haywood Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Ava Meigs, Cane Creek MS

Nicholas Oursler, Classical Scholars

Laura Shelton, Henderson MS

Elijah Horton, Cane Creek MS

Alder McCalla, Cane Creek MS

David Wetherington, Cane Creek

Best Witnesses:

Elijah Horton, Cane Creek MS

Autumn Wanicka, Classical Scholars

Cate Boyette, Hendersonville MS

Emma Barlowe, Cane Creek MS

John Hayes, Waynesville MS

Trinity Zeigler, Cane Creek MS


Mecklenburg Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Anais Delgado, Ridge Road MS

Kelsey Hall, Mount Pleasant MS

Sawyer Austin, Mount Pleasant MS

Emma Hoff, Piedmont, IB World School

Payton Belvin, Ridge Road MS

Rosebud Hoff, Piedmont, IB World School

Best Witnesses:

Alexa Fields, Piedmont, IB World School

Grace Price, Ridge Road MS

Aidan Little, Mount Pleasant MS

Emma Hoff, Piedmont, IB World School

Kaylee Andrievk, Scholars Academy

Haley Bowland, Scholars Academy


Stokes Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Trisha Santanam, The Academy at Lincoln

Izzy Werling, Brown Summit

Rochan Bakthisaran, The Academy at Lincoln

Kelby Shouse, Northwest Guilford MS

Best Witnesses:

Grace Kauder, The Academy at Lincoln

Jeremiah Meyer, Brown Summit

Riya Kannon, The Academy at Lincoln

Sophia Ladetto, Northwest Guilford MS


Wayne Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Katie Wagner, Wayne School of Engineering

Bryce Herring, Wayne School of Engineering

Joshua Lawhorne, Wayne School of Engineering

Best Witnesses:

Vismitha Tameti, Wayne School of Engineering

Jay Bass, Wayne School of Engineering

Jade Gatling, KIPP GCP


Wilkes Courthouse

Best Attorneys:

Marley Robinson, Hardin Park Elem.

Bethany Hicks, Cove Creek MS

John Prest, Sparta School (SSW)

Hazel Pasley, (SSA)

Best Witnesses:

Lydia Rothrock, Harden Park Elem.

Cameron Fletcher, Cove Creek MS

Kevin Trujillo, Sparta School (SSW)

Gavin Allen, Harden Park Elem.


We send our sincere thanks and gratitude to all the dedicated teachers and hardworking students who prepared over the past months and participated at the regionals.

We express sincere thanks to all the wonderful volunteers who helped as attorney advisors preparing teams for the regionals and to those who participated as presiding judges and scorers the day of the tournament. Your time and commitment to support LRE programs is appreciated by the NCBAF.

Special thanks is extended to all the Clerks of Court, Trial Administrators, Court Security and all involved with helping to coordinate courtrooms and accommodating participants at the regionals competition at the following hosting courthouses: Alexander, Brunswick, Caldwell, Durham, Harnett, Haywood, Mecklenburg, Stokes, Wayne and Wilkes.

Questions should be directed to for any inquiries.