Skip to main content

Evelyn M. Coman Award for Distinguished Service in the Field of Construction Law

The Construction Law Section is pleased to solicit nominations for the Evelyn M. Coman Award for Distinguished Service.

The Evelyn M. Coman Award for Distinguished Service in the Field of Construction Law recognizes a lawyer in North Carolina who has made a significant contribution in the field of construction law through case law or other professional achievement, exhibited a strong record of volunteerism, or has consistently upheld the highest ideals of their profession through a dedicated career in construction law.

The Evelyn M. Coman Award for Distinguished Service was established in 2002 after the passing of its namesake. A founding member of the Construction Law Section, Evelyn served for many years as a distinguished member of both the North Carolina Bar Association and the Construction Law Section Council. Throughout her career, Evelyn demonstrated time and again the criteria of this award. By establishing this award, the Construction Law Section Council points to her life and career as a model for any construction lawyer.

Each year nominations are sought from throughout the legal community. The award may or may not be given at the discretion of the Evelyn M. Coman Award for Distinguished Service Committee. Members of the Coman Award Committee are not eligible to win the award while serving as a committee member.

All honorees will be added to the Evelyn M. Coman Award for Distinguished Service plaque at the North Carolina Bar Center in Cary and honorees will also receive an award plaque. Appropriate publicity in bar publications will recognize the recipients of this award. Local media in the recipient’s home area will be encouraged to acknowledge the award.

Award Requirements

All nominees must be:

  • A member in good standing or past member of the North Carolina State Bar and the North Carolina Bar Association,
  • A licensed attorney practicing or retired from the practice of law in North Carolina, and
  • A member or past member of the Construction Law Section.

All nominees for consideration must be one or more of the following:

  • An attorney with a recent significant accomplishment that is well-known throughout the construction law community, such as noteworthy case law or contribution affecting legislative reform,
  • An attorney who has made significant voluntary contributions to the construction law community, or
  • An attorney who has committed a lifetime of work to construction law and has consistently upheld the highest ideals of his or her profession.

About the Award

  • The Construction Law Section Council of the North Carolina Bar Association establishes a standing committee (the Award Committee) for the determination of recipients for the Award.
  • The Award Committee (including the Chair of the Award Committee) will consist of five members of the Construction Law Section.
  • Two seats will belong to the Immediate Past Chair and the preceding previous Chair of the Section Council. The three remaining, at-large seats will belong to individuals nominated by the Current Section Chair and approved by the Section Council.
  • Each At-Large Award Committee member will serve a term of not more than three (3) years beginning July 1 and ending June 30. At-Large Committee members may serve more than one term, but not consecutively.
  • The Immediate Past Chair of the Section Council will serve as Chair of the Award Committee.

Nomination Guidelines

  • Background: Please include a current resume of the nominee and other relevant background information, including pertinent family information as appropriate.
  • Narrative: Describe the nominee’s commitment to construction law in terms of the criteria described in the award. Include information that describes the depth and breadth of the nominee’s voluntary contributions to the community, work on a specific accomplishment in the field of construction law, or ways the nominee has improved the practice of construction law through a dedicated career or legislative reform. Include any supporting data such as news articles, statistics, publications and similar documentation.
  • Letters of Support: Letters from individuals or organizations that support the candidate’s nomination should also be included. No more than five letters, please.
  • Photograph: If selected, you will be asked to provide a high resolution digital image of the recipient.

This form is currently closed for submissions.

Award Recipients

  • 2002 | Walter L. Hannah, Greensboro
  • 2003 | E. K. Powe, Durham
  • 2004 | John L. Shaw, Raleigh
  • 2006 | Dudley Humphrey, Winston-Salem
  • 2009 | Fenton T. Erwin, Charlotte
  • 2012 | John B. “Jack” Taylor, Charlotte
  • 2017 | A. Holt Gwyn, Greensboro
  • 2018 | Richard D. Conner, Greensboro
  • 2021 | David Layton, Gastonia

Contact the NCBA Communities team