2018 Leadership Academy Class Recognized

NCBA Leadership Academy Class of 2018

The NCBA Leadership Academy’s Class of 2018.The North Carolina Bar Association Leadership Academy’s Class of 2018 has completed its leadership training program. The final session of the leadership program was conducted at the NCBA Annual Meeting in Wilmington.

Members of the Leadership Academy Class of 2018, who were recognized during the inaugural Annual Meeting Awards and Recognitions Dinner, are:

  • Andrew Atkins, Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan, Raleigh
  • Tiffany Atkins, Elon University School of Law, Whitsett
  • Jaimee Bullock, Greene Wilson Attorneys at Law, New Bern
  • Melissa Duncan, Elon University School of Law, Greensboro
  • Murphy Fletcher, McGuire, Wood & Bissette, Asheville
  • Blakely Hildebrand, Southern Environmental Law Center, Durham
  • Jeff Kelly, Shanahan McDougal, Raleigh
  • Rachel Matesic, Marrellino & Tyson, Charlotte
  • Michael Parrish, Ward and Smith, New Bern
  • Nicole Patino, Law Offices of Fred Hamlet, Greensboro
  • Don Pender, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Garner
  • Eleanor Redhage, Battle, Winslow, Scott & Wiley, Rocky Mount
  • Keith Richardson, Forrest Firm, Raleigh
  • Courtney Roller, Roller Law, Thomasville
  • Grant Sigmon, Sigmon Klein, Greensboro
  • Ben Winikoff, Elliot, Morgan, Parsonage, Winston-Salem

The mission of the Leadership Academy is to help young lawyers become more effective leaders in their communities. It implemented by the NCBA’s Young Lawyer Initiatives Task Force in 2011 during the tenure of President Gene Pridgen under the direction of Past-President Norfleet Pruden.

Roberta King Latham, former chair of the Young Lawyers Division, and Past-President Shelby Benton served as co-chairs of the NCBA Leadership Academy initiative this year. The NCBA again partnered with Joy Ruhmann and Level Up Leadership to provide this year’s training.