Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

All Set For Annual Meeting!

All Set For Annual Meeting!

Jacqueline D. Grant, 2018-19 President

The North Carolina Bar Association will hold its 2019 Annual Meeting in Asheville at Biltmore on Thursday through Sunday, June 20-23. This is the NCBA’s 121st Annual Meeting and the 44th time that it has convened in Asheville.

This is the NCBA’s first Annual Meeting at Biltmore.

Jacqueline D. Grant of Roberts & Stevens in Asheville is completing her term as president of the NCBA and the North Carolina Bar Foundation. LeAnn Nease Brown of Brown & Bunch in Chapel Hill will be sworn in on Saturday evening as the 125th president of the NCBA and will also serve as president of the NCBF.

Chief Justice Cheri Beasley of the N.C. Supreme Court will administer the oath of office.

Festivities get underway on Thursday, culminating with the Awards & Recognitions Dinner. The following individuals will receive awards during this event:

Retired Superior Court Judge Howard E. Manning Jr. of Raleigh is the 39th recipient of the Judge John J. Parker Award, considered the highest award bestowed by the NCBA.

Reid Phillips of Brooks Pierce in Greensboro will receive the Chief Justice I. Beverly Lake Jr. Public Service Award.

LeAnn Nease Brown, 2019-20 President

Former N.C. Supreme Court Justice Robert “Bob” Orr will receive the H. Brent McKnight Renaissance Lawyer Award.

Lakisha Chichester of FHI 360 in Raleigh-Durham will receive the Distinguished Paralegal Award.

The Legal Practice Hall of Fame (formerly General Practice Hall of Fame) will induct four new members:

  • Dan Hartzog, Raleigh, Cranfill Sumner & Hartzog
  • R. Anderson “Andy” Haynes, Tyron
  • L.P. “Tony” Hornthal, Elizabeth City, Hornthal, Riley, Ellis & Maland
  • Timothy Wayne Smith, Kenansville, formerly of Smith & Blizzard

Pro Bono Awards will be presented to:

  • Brent Torstrick, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, William Thorp Pro Bono Service Award
  • TeAndra Miller, Legal Aid of North Carolina, Raleigh, Deborah Greenblatt Outstanding Legal Services Attorney Award
  • City of Durham, Durham Expunction And Restoration (DEAR) Program, Outstanding Collaborative Pro Bono Award
  • Stone & Christy, Black Mountain, Law Firm Pro Bono Award
  • Campbell Law School, Raleigh, Law School Pro Bono Service Award
  • Manisha Patel, Greensboro, YLD Pro Bono Award

Additional awards recognizing members of the Young Lawyers Division will be presented to:

  • Jonathan Bogues, Moore & Alphin, Raleigh, Robinson O. Everett Professionalism Award
  • Lisa Arthur, Fox Rothschild, Greensboro, Charles F. Blanchard Young Lawyer of the Year Award

Citizen Lawyer Awards will be presented to:

  • Judge Larry Brown Jr., N.C. District Court, Graham
  • Niya Fonville, Campbell Law School, Raleigh
  • Joel Harbinson, Harbinson, Brzykcy & Corbett, Taylorsville
  • Sarah Fulton Hutchins, Parker Poe, Charlotte
  • Lance Lawson, Burr Forman, Charlotte
  • William “Will” Oden III, Ward and Smith, Wilmington
  • Justin Outling, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro
  • David Redding, Redding Jones, Charlotte
  • Kathleen Treadwell, Pittman & Steele, Burlington
  • Henry “Hank” Van Hoy II, Martin & Van Hoy, Mocksville
  • Rep. W. “Lee” Zachary Jr., Zachary Law Offices, Yadkinville

Recognition will be provided to two distinguished groups of individuals:

New members of the NCBF Platt Walker Society, signifying the commitment of a planned gift, are:

  • Zeb E. Barnhardt Jr., Greensboro
  • Judge Robert R. Blackwell (posthumous), Yanceyville
  • William S. Cherry Jr., Poyner Spruill, and Susan Cherry, Raleigh
  • W. Erwin Fuller Jr., partner emeritus, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro
  • Thomas M. Hull, NCBF Director of Legacy Gifts, Apex
  • A.  William Kennon (posthumous), Durham
  • James W. Kilbourne Jr., Dungan Kilbourne & Stahl, Asheville
  • D. Beth Langley, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro
  • Judge Julian Mann III, N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings, Raleigh
  • George W. Martin (posthumous), Mocksville
  • Mary Todd “Toddy” Warren, Washington
  • John R. Wester, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte

Members of the 2019 NCBA Leadership Academy, who complete their leadership training program at the Annual Meeting, are:

  • Kara Brunk, Raleigh, Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan
  • Christina Cress, Raleigh, Nichols, Choi & Lee
  • Claire Duff, Raleigh, Wake County Attorney's Office   
  • Casey Ferri, Charlotte, Conrad Trosch & Kemmy
  • Katye Griffin, Raleigh, Fox Rothschild    
  • Matthew Houston, Raleigh, K&L Gates
  • Vince Hyatt, Candler, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians      
  • Mary Kathryn Kurth, Raleigh, Edwards Kirby    
  • Madison Mackenzie, Raleigh, N.C. Real Estate Commission 
  • Marissa Meredith, Greensboro, Elon University School of Law        
  • Larissa Mervin, Davidson, Legal Aid of NC      
  • Elizabeth Morales, Chapel Hill, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson        
  • Rachel Nicholas, Durham, Schwartz and Shaw
  • Amish Patel, Raleigh, Williams Mullen   
  • Jasmine Pitt, Clemmons, Bennett Guthrie Latham      
  • Allen Trask III, Wilmington, Ward and Smith

Friday’s agenda includes the morning General Session, the President’s Luncheon featuring Gary K. Shipman of Shipman & Wright in Wilmington, and receptions for North Carolina’s six law schools (Campbell, Duke, Elon, NCCU, UNC, Wake Forest) and Cumberland School of Law.

Friday evening culminates with the fourth installment of the Minorities in the Profession Committee’s Legal Legends of Color Awards, which will be presented to:

  • Professor Charles Daye, UNC School of Law
  • Former U.S. Attorney Janice Cole of Hertford
  • Former N.C. Rep. H. M. “Mickey” Michaux Jr. of Durham
  • Retired Superior Court Judge Sammie Chess of High Point
  • Julius Chambers (posthumous), renowned civil rights attorney

Saturday morning’s General Session will feature the election of a new president-elect and members of the NCBA Board of Governors. The following individuals have been nominated to serve on the Board:

  • Brandon Robinson, Durham
  • Katherine Wilkerson, Lynch & Eatman, Raleigh
  • Mary Nash Rusher, McGuireWoods, Raleigh
  • Linda F. Johnson, Senter, Stephenson, Johnson, Fuquay-Varina
  • E. Bradley Evans, Ward and Smith, Greenville
  • Charles E. Raynal IV, Parker Poe, Raleigh
  • Julian Wright, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte

New vice presidents, who were elected at the spring meeting of the Board of Governors, are:

  • Justice Mark Davis, N.C. Supreme Court, Raleigh
  • Judge Richard Allen Baddour Jr., N.C. Superior Court, Pittsboro
  • Judge Regina Rodgers Parker, N.C. District Court, Williamston
  • Andrew Foster, Duke Law School Director of the Community Enterprise Clinic and Clinical Professor of Law, Durham
  • Reid Phillips, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro

Saturday morning’s General Session will also include presentation of the annual State of the Judiciary address by Chief Justice Cheri Beasley and welcoming remarks from the newest member of the Fourth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals, Judge Allison J. Rushing of Asheville.

Click here to view the complete schedule for the 2019 NCBA Annual Meeting.