Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Anderson Receives Section Award

Anderson Receives Section Award

Ann Anderson, right, accepts award from NCBA President LeAnn Nease Brown.

M. Ann Anderson of Pilot Mountain was honored on Friday, Feb. 28, as the sixth recipient of the Labor and Employment Law Section’s Distinguished Practitioner and Service Award.

The award is presented as merited by the section in recognition of a career that exemplifies outstanding service, leadership, and significant contributions to the development of employment law in North Carolina.

“I am beyond honored to receive the award,” Anderson said, “especially from a group like the Labor and Employment Law Section. I consider them extremely professional; they could teach a lot of us with differing views about how to talk to each other.

“I am also honored to be included on a list that includes Jon Harkavy, John Doyle, Dan McGinn, Travis Payne and John Gresham. Over the years I have had cases with or worked with the previous recipients, and found them to be attorneys of the highest ethical and professional standards.”

Harkavy was the first to receive the award in 2008, followed by Doyle in 2009, McGinn in 2010, Payne in 2012 and Gresham in 2018.

Anderson is a certified mediator and private practitioner from Pilot Mountain, where she has practiced since 1996. She is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (1976) and UNC School of Law (1981).

Her record of service within the NCBA is extensive. Anderson is a past chair of the Labor and Employment Law Section (2017-18) and the Dispute Resolute Section (2006-07), and was honored by the Dispute Resolution Section in 2014 as the recipient of its Peace Award.

Anderson served on the NCBA Board of Governors and North Carolina Bar Foundation Board of Directors in 2008-11, and presently serves on the NCBF Board of Directors as chair of the Endowment Committee.

She is a Fellow of The College of Labor and Employment Lawyers and former member of the N.C. Dispute Resolution Commission.