Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Distinguished Paralegal Award Presented

Distinguished Paralegal Award Presented

From left, presenter Bill Pollock, recipient Sarah White, Awards Committee member Stephanie Crosby, and presenter David Liggett.

Sarah L. White of Ragsdale Liggett, PLLC, in Raleigh received the 2018 Distinguished Paralegal Award on Friday, May 4, at the Paralegal Division Annual Meeting in Pinehurst. Bill Pollock and David Liggett of Ragsdale Liggett presented the award.

Further recognition of the recipient will transpire on Thursday, June 21, at the NCBA Annual Meeting Awards Dinner.

White is a graduate of East Carolina University and the Meredith College Program for Legal Assistants Certification. She received the Certified Paralegal (1999) and Advanced Certified Paralegal (2001) from the National Association of Legal Assistants and in 2005 earned North Carolina Certified Paralegal certification from the N.C. State Bar.

She has served as a litigation paralegal at White & Allen (1996-98) in Kinston and Ward and Smith (1998-2002) in Greenville and as a senior litigation paralegal at Stephenson Law Firm in Cary (2002-12) and Ragsdale Liggett (2012-present) in Raleigh.

“Sarah White is a paralegal at Ragsdale Liggett and has been a dynamic leader in the paralegal profession, both in our law firm and in the community,” stated Bill Pollock of Ragsdale Liggett in her nomination. “She has a relentless drive and determination to achieve the best and propels others to succeed.”

“If an attorney is going to trial,” Pollock added, “the attorney wants Sarah by his or her side.”

The nomination commended White’s involvement in the National Association of Legal Assistants, the NCBA Paralegal Division and the N.C. Association of Defense Attorneys Paralegal Division.

“In addition,” Pollock stated, “she has been a mentor to other paralegals, helping them to advance and become more successful in their field. She is the go-to person in the firm where the attorneys need to draft and present continuing education classes and is always willing to jump in and help her attorneys with various projects.”

Previous recipients of the Distinguished Service Award were (2008) Teresa L. Bowling, (2010) Virginia M. Burrows, (2011) Phyllis M. Hines, (2012) Stephanie C. Crosby, (2013) Kaye H. Summers, (2014) Sarah Hall Kaufman, (2015) Yolanda N. Smith, (2016) Wanda Pitts Nicholson and (2017) Alicia Lewis of Raleigh.