Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Leaders in the Law Recognized

Leaders in the Law Recognized

Honorees pose for a group photo prior to the Leaders in the Law awards dinner.

North Carolina Lawyers Weekly, in partnership with the Elon University School of Law, presented the 2017 North Carolina Leaders in the Law Awards on Friday evening, Sept. 15, in Charlotte.

The North Carolina Bar Association figured prominently in the proceedings as all but two of the Leaders in the Law honorees are members, including President Caryn McNeill of Raleigh and current board member Robert Harrington of Charlotte who was recognized as the Lawyer of the Year.

Judge Robert N. Hunter Jr. of the N.C. Court of Appeals, the evening’s featured speaker and recipient of the Leadership in the Law Award, is also a longtime NCBA member and former president of BarCARES.

The complete listing of the 2017 Leaders in the Law Award recipients follows, with NCBA members denoted in boldface:

Cybil I. Abrao, Charlotte
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP

T. Jonathan Adams, Charlotte
Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Mark E. Anderson, Raleigh
McGuire Woods LLP

Elwood Becton, Raleigh
The Becton Law Group, P.L.L.C.

Adrienne S. Blocker, Durham
Law Office of Adrienne Blocker

Kate Deiter-Maradei, Raleigh
Deiter Mediation

Gray Ellis, Durham
Ellis Family Law, PLLC

Jami Jackson Farris, Charlotte
Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP

Faith A. Fickling, Charlotte
Legal Aid of North Carolina, Inc.

Kimberly Bullock Gatling, Greensboro
Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP

Rebekah Grafton, Raleigh
Fay & Grafton

Christian W. Hancock, Charlotte
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings

Robert E. Harrington, Charlotte
Robinson Bradshaw

Ihuoma Igboanugo, Raleigh
The Crescent Law Practice

Diana Santos Johnson, Winston-Salem
Bolton Law Group, PA

I. Anderson “Andy” Little, Chapel Hill
Mediation, Inc.

Barrett C. Mallos, Charlotte
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Kim Kelly Mann, Charlotte and Winston-Salem
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP

Caryn Coppedge McNeill, Raleigh
Smith Anderson/NCBA President

Michael T. Medford, Raleigh
Manning, Fulton & Skinner, P.A.

Sidney O. Minter, Charlotte
Fisher Phillips

Annemarie Pantazis, Charlotte
Pantazis Law Firm

Reid L. Phillips, Greensboro
Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP

Megan Sadler, Charlotte
Bass Dunklin McCullough & Smith, PLLC

Elizabeth Scott, Raleigh
Williams Mullen

Lisa M. Shields-Cook, Charlotte
Fidelity National Title Group

Nicole H. Sodoma, Charlotte
Sodoma Law, P.C.

Michelle S. Spak, Charlotte
Duke Energy Corporation

Christian H. Staples, Charlotte
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Ritchie W. Taylor, Raleigh
Manning, Fulton & Skinner, P.A.