Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Nominations Committee, Chair Appointed

Nominations Committee, Chair Appointed

President-elect Jackie Grant has appointed Alex Dale to serve as chair of the North Carolina Bar Association Nominations Committee for 2017-18.      

The members of the Nominations Committee are:

Members serving the second year of a two-year term:

  • Brian Beverly (Division III)        
  • Stephen Later (Division IV)         
  • Ramona O’Bryant (Division V)          
  • Bonnie Refiniski-Knight (Division II)          

Appointees for two-year terms beginning in 2017-18       

  • Mark Edwards (Division I)           
  • Glenn Ketner (Division VI)         
  • Judge Ty Hands (Division VII)       
  • James Kilbourne (Division VIII)       

The respective divisions denoted above represent the State of North Carolina’s eight judicial divisions, which are reflected in this map of the state’s Superior Court districts. NCBA bylaws require that one member from each division serve on the Nominations Committee.

Committee membership also includes the immediate past chair of the Young Lawyers Division and a past president of the NCBA, both of whom serve one-year terms. Immediate Past Chair Matt Cordell and Past President Janet Ward Black will fill these positions.

NCBA bylaws allow for the submission of nominations to serve on the Board of Governors prior to the initial meeting of the Nominations Committee. The deadline to submit such nominations is Jan. 24, 2018, and those nominations shall be submitted in writing to Alex C. Dale, c/o Ward and Smith, P.A., Post Office Box 7068, Wilmington, NC 28406-7068.