Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Pro Bono Awards Chosen

Pro Bono Awards Chosen

The winners of the North Carolina Bar Association’s 2017 Pro Bono Awards have been selected. The recipients were chosen by members of the Pro Bono Activities Committee and will be recognized during the NCBA Annual Meeting, scheduled June 22-25, at The Omni Grove Park Inn in Asheville.

Formal recognition will take place on Friday, June 23, during the President’s Luncheon.

The winner of the William Thorp Pro Bono Service Award is William L. Esser of Parker Poe in Charlotte.

The winner of the Chief Justice Award is the Wake County Bar Association’s Pro Bono Expunction Project.

The winner of the Deborah Greenblatt Outstanding Legal Services Attorney Award is Jim Holloway of Legal Aid of North Carolina in Sylva.

The winner of the Large Law Firm Award is Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP of Raleigh.

The winner of the Small and Medium Law Firm Award is Garrity & Gossage, LLP of Matthews.

The winner of the Law Student Group Award is Elon University School of Law’s Country Conditions Project.

The Younger Lawyer Award will be presented to Brooks Jaffa and Cabell Clay of Charlotte and Rachel Blunk of Burlington for the Disaster Legal Services Project. Selected by the Young Lawyers Division, the winners of the Younger Lawyer Award will be recognized at the President’s Luncheon and will receive their awards on Saturday, June 24, at the YLD Luncheon.