Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Reynolds Receives McKnight Award

Reynolds Receives McKnight Award

Suzanne Reynolds, left, accepts award from President Catharine Arrowood.

Suzanne Reynolds of Winston-Salem is the recipient of the North Carolina Bar Association’s 2015 H. Brent McKnight Renaissance Lawyer Award. The award was presented Friday, June 19, at the NCBA Annual Meeting in Asheville.

Reynolds is the interim dean of the Wake Forest University School of Law, where she has served on the faculty since 1981. She also held the title of executive associate dean for academic affairs for four years prior to her appointment as interim dean, at which time she became the first woman to lead the law school. On June 3, she was named dean of the law school, effective July 1.

Reynolds holds a bachelor’s degree from Meredith College, a master’s degree from UNC-Chapel Hill and a law degree from Wake Forest. She is married to attorney Robert M. “Hoppy” Elliot of the Elliot Morgan Parsonage in Winston-Salem. Prior to joining the law faculty at Wake Forest, Reynolds practiced with Smith, Moore, Smith, Schell & Hunter in Greensboro.

The H. Brent McKnight Renaissance Lawyer Award, established in 2006 by the Professionalism Committee, recognizes attorneys who demonstrate the “Renaissance Lawyer” qualities embodied by Judge McKnight, former chair of the Professionalism Committee who died in 2004 while serving on the U.S. District Court for the Western District of N.C.

The award seeks to recognize those North Carolina attorneys whose trustworthiness, respectful and courteous treatment of all people, enthusiasm for intellectual achievement and commitment to excellence in work, and service to the profession and community, inspire others.

Previous winners of the award are Peter Gilchrist (2006), E. Osborne Ayscue Jr. (2007), Wade Smith (2008), Mark Bernstein (2009), Woody Connette (2010), Catharine Arrowood (2011), Mark Merritt (2012), Jon Harkavy (2013) and Harrison L. Marshall Jr. (2014).