Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

SLD Gathers In High Point

SLD Gathers In High Point

Attendees included SLD Chair Bruce Huggins, left, Ann Morgan and NCBA/NCBF Executive Director Jason Hensley.

The NCBA Senior Lawyers Division gathered in High Point in late September for the SLD Fall Meeting. 

Highlights included a reception hosted by Jim and Ann Morgan, a tour of High Point, CLE programming and recognition of the 2019 Legal Practice Hall of Fame (formerly General Practice Hall of Fame). 

See photos here.

The purposes of the Senior Lawyers Division shall be to uphold the honor of the profession of law, to apply the knowledge and experience of the profession to the promotion of the public good and to encourage adherence to the principles of professional courtesy among the members of the N.C. bar.

The division shall promote the particular interests of the senior lawyer and plan and carry out programs, publications and activities of interest to the senior lawyer.

North Carolina Bar Association members who are at least 65 years of age share multiple common interests and activities that are enriched by membership in the Senior Lawyers Division.

The Senior Lawyers Division was established in 1990. Underscoring the importance of the SLD is the fact that the following list of past chairs includes judges, legislators, a past president of the NCBA/NCBF and a former chief justice of the N.C. Supreme Court.

Senior Lawyers Division Chairs
1990-91        D. Wescott Moser
1991-92        D. Wescott Moser
1992-93        Paul B. Bell
1993-94        Oscar Edwin Starnes
1994-95        William F. Womble
1995-96        Dean A. Rich
1996-97        Robert A. Collier, Jr.
1997-98        Richmond G. Bernhardt, Jr.
1998-99        Robert D. Darden, Jr.
1999-00        Charles E. Nichols
2000-01        Charles P. Younce
2001-02        Richard E. Glaze
2002-03        Marion A. Cowell
2003-04        Daniel W. Haley
2004-05        Samuel Johnson Jr.
2005-06        Rep. R.  Phillip Haire
2006-07        Barbara S. Perry
2007-08        James W. Narron
2008-09        P. Wayne Robbins
2009-10        Harold D. Colston
2010-11        W. Hugh Thompson
2011-12        Glenn E. Ketner, Jr.
2012-13        John Robert Hooten
2013-14        Christopher L. Burti
2014-15        Jim Exum
2015-16        J. Phil Carlton
2016-17        J. Melvin Bowen
2017-18        E.D. Gaskins, Jr.
2018-19        Erwin Fuller
2019-20        Bruce Higgins