Updates and resources from the NCBA/NCBF regarding COVID-19

myNCBA Member Profile

Join or Renew

Annual Meeting Roundup, Photos

Annual Meeting Roundup, Photos

Chief Justice Cheri Beasley administers the oath of office to LeAnn Nease Brown while Brown's husband and law partner, Gordon Brown, holds the Bible.

The North Carolina Bar Association held its 2019 Annual Meeting in Asheville at Biltmore on Thursday through Sunday, June 20-23.

LeAnn Nease Brown of Chapel Hill was sworn in on Saturday evening as the 125th president of the NCBA and will also serve as president of the North Carolina Bar Foundation, succeeding Jacqueline D. Grant of Asheville. SEE STORY HERE.

C. Mark Holt of Raleigh was elected president-elect of the NCBA during the Saturday morning General Session, and will serve as president in 2020-21. SEE STORY HERE.

Saturday morning’s business session also included the election of seven new members of the NCBA Board of Governors. They will serve three-year terms from 2019-22, and will be joined in their board service by the recently elected vice presidents. SEE STORY HERE.

During Thursday’s summer meeting of the North Carolina Bar Foundation Board of Directors on June 20, six new at-large members were elected. They will join the chairs of the NCBF’s three standing committees in service on the newly constituted NCBF Board of Directors, which was established by adoption of the revised NCBF Bylaws on May 31, 2019. The revised bylaws became effective on June 22, 2019. SEE STORY HERE.

Outgoing President Jacqueline Grant receives a standing ovation at the Saturday night gala.

The NCBA Annual Meeting included numerous special events, awards and recognition ceremonies, and the inclusion of CLE programming built upon the theme of Wellness: Work, Mind, Body, Life. The agenda also featured the State of the Judiciary Address from Chief Justice Cheri Beasley of the N.C. Supreme Court and the keynote address from Judge Allison Jones Rushing of Asheville, the newest member of the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Many of these magical moments were captured by our photographers and uploaded to various social media platforms. Click on the day to access Facebook Photo Albums for Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

The following awards were presented during the Annual Meeting:

Retired Superior Court Judge Howard E. Manning Jr. of Raleigh became the 39th recipient of the Judge John J. Parker Award, considered the highest award bestowed by the NCBA.

Reid Phillips of Brooks Pierce in Greensboro received the Chief Justice I. Beverly Lake Jr. Public Service Award.

Former N.C. Supreme Court Justice Robert “Bob” Orr received the H. Brent McKnight Renaissance Lawyer Award.

Lakisha Chichester of FHI 360 in Raleigh-Durham received the Distinguished Paralegal Award.

President-elect Mark Holt, left, accepts congratulations from Executive Director Jason Hensley.

The Legal Practice Hall of Fame (formerly General Practice Hall of Fame) inducted four new members:

  • Dan Hartzog, Raleigh, Cranfill Sumner & Hartzog
  • R. Anderson “Andy” Haynes, Tyron
  • L.P. “Tony” Hornthal, Elizabeth City, Hornthal, Riley, Ellis & Maland
  • Timothy Wayne Smith, Kenansville, formerly of Smith & Blizzard

Pro Bono Awards were presented to:

  • Brent Torstrick, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte, William Thorp Pro Bono Service Award
  • TeAndra Miller, Legal Aid of North Carolina, Raleigh, Deborah Greenblatt Outstanding Legal Services Attorney Award
  • City of Durham, Durham Expunction And Restoration (DEAR) Program, Outstanding Collaborative Pro Bono Award
  • Stone & Christy, Black Mountain, Law Firm Pro Bono Award
  • Campbell Law School, Raleigh, Law School Pro Bono Service Award
  • Manisha Patel, Greensboro, YLD Pro Bono Award

In addition to the YLD Pro Bono Award, the NCBA Young Lawyers Division presented awards to:

  • ·       Jonathan Bogues, Moore & Alphin, Raleigh, Robinson O. Everett Professionalism Award
  • ·       Lisa Arthur, Fox Rothschild, Greensboro, Charles F. Blanchard Young Lawyer of the Year Award

The Hon. Sammie Chess, Legal Legends of Color Award winner, right, is congratulated by former Associate Justice Robert Edmunds.

The annual Citizen Lawyer Awards were presented to:

  • Judge Larry Brown Jr., N.C. District Court, Graham
  • Niya Fonville, Campbell Law School, Raleigh
  • Joel Harbinson, Harbinson, Brzykcy & Corbett, Taylorsville
  • Sarah Fulton Hutchins, Parker Poe, Charlotte
  • Lance Lawson, Burr Forman, Charlotte
  • William “Will” Oden III, Ward and Smith, Wilmington
  • Justin Outling, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro
  • David Redding, Redding Jones, Charlotte
  • Kathleen Treadwell, Pittman & Steele, Burlington
  • Henry “Hank” Van Hoy II, Martin & Van Hoy, Mocksville
  • Rep. W. “Lee” Zachary Jr., Zachary Law Offices, Yadkinville

The Minorities in the Profession Committee presented Legal Legends of Color Awards to:

  • Professor Charles Daye, UNC School of Law
  • Former U.S. Attorney Janice Cole of Hertford
  • Former N.C. Rep. H. M. “Mickey” Michaux Jr. of Durham
  • Retired Superior Court Judge Sammie Chess of High Point
  • Julius Chambers (posthumous), renowned civil rights attorney

New members of the NCBF Platt Walker Society, signifying the commitment of a planned gift, were recognized. They are:

  • Zeb E. Barnhardt Jr., Greensboro
  • Judge Robert R. Blackwell (posthumous), Yanceyville
  • William S. Cherry Jr., Poyner Spruill, and Susan Cherry, Raleigh
  • W. Erwin Fuller Jr., partner emeritus, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro
  • Thomas M. Hull, NCBF Director of Legacy Gifts, Apex
  • A.  William Kennon (posthumous), Durham
  • James W. Kilbourne Jr., Dungan Kilbourne & Stahl, Asheville
  • D. Beth Langley, Brooks Pierce, Greensboro
  • Judge Julian Mann III, N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings, Raleigh
  • George W. Martin (posthumous), Mocksville
  • Mary Todd “Toddy” Warren, Washington
  • John R. Wester, Robinson Bradshaw, Charlotte

Members of the 2019 NCBA Leadership Academy, who completed their leadership training program at the Annual Meeting, are:

  • Kara Brunk, Raleigh, Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan
  • Christina Cress, Raleigh, Nichols, Choi & Lee
  • Claire Duff, Raleigh, Wake County Attorney's Office   
  • Casey Ferri, Charlotte, Conrad Trosch & Kemmy
  • Katye Griffin, Raleigh, Fox Rothschild    
  • Matthew Houston, Raleigh, K&L Gates
  • Vince Hyatt, Candler, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians      
  • Mary Kathryn Kurth, Raleigh, Edwards Kirby    
  • Madison Mackenzie, Raleigh, N.C. Real Estate Commission 
  • Marissa Meredith, Greensboro, Elon University School of Law        
  • Larissa Mervin, Davidson, Legal Aid of NC      
  • Elizabeth Morales, Chapel Hill, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson        
  • Rachel Nicholas, Durham, Schwartz and Shaw
  • Amish Patel, Raleigh, Williams Mullen   
  • Jasmine Pitt, Clemmons, Bennett Guthrie Latham      
  • Allen Trask III, Wilmington, Ward and Smith

The Young Lawyers Division approved new officers for 2019-20 and installed Cabell Clay of Charlotte as chair. She succeeds Rachel Blunk of Greensboro. Kristen Kirby of Raleigh will serve as chair-elect, Will Quick of Raleigh will serve as secretary and Brooks Jaffa of Charlotte is the new administrative division director.

Behind every name listed above and every person who attended the NCBA Annual Meeting, there are stories to be told and memories to be cherished. It is a beautiful event, made possible by the hard work of many and the participation of those who annually set aside an extended weekend in June to celebrate the very best that the legal profession has to offer.

To that end, mark your calendars for June 25-28, 2020, when the 122nd NCBA Annual Meeting will convene in Charlotte. It will undoubtedly be one for the books!