Skip to main content

Children’s Champion Award

The Juvenile Justice & Children’s Rights Section is pleased to solicit nominations for the Children’s Champion Award, to be conferred in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Juvenile Justice & Children’s Rights Section.

The Children’s Champion Award has been established to recognize members of the Juvenile Justice & Children’s Rights Section who are true “champions” for North Carolina children and youth. The recipient of the award should be a person who:

  1. has the highest ethical standards;
  2. is held in the highest regard by both the bench and bar;
  3. demonstrates a deep, caring desire to help children;
  4. demonstrates a long-term commitment to improving the well-being of children through a minimum of 5 years of professional service related to the protection of children and/or children’s rights, with particular emphasis given to the length of the nominee’s commitment and service;
  5. has taken action to improve the administration of justice for children through direct advocacy, research, policy development, and/or volunteer service; and
  6. is committed to the mission of the Juvenile Justice & Children’s Rights Section as demonstrated by exemplary service to the Section.

Please note:

  1. the Award may be conferred and nominations may be made posthumously;
  2. nominees who do not receive the Award may be considered for the Award in subsequent years without being re-nominated; and
  3. nominees who are currently practicing must be a member of the Juvenile Justice & Children’s Rights Section to be considered for the Award.

Nominations Guidelines

Complete the form below to nominate an individual. You may be contacted by a member of the Section about your nominee. The nomination and supporting information, and all communications, will be kept confidential.

Award | JJCR Section - Children's Champion Award

Nominee Information

Maximum upload size: 52.43MB
Maximum upload size: 52.43MB

Contact Information for Person Submitting Nomination


Award Recipients

2018 | Deana Fleming

2019 | Eric Zogry

2020 | LaToya Powell