Citizen Lawyer Recipients Announced

The NCBA Citizen Lawyer Award was established in 2007 to recognize lawyers who provide exemplary public service to their communities. Honorees include elected and appointed government officials, coaches, mentors and voluntary leaders of nonprofit civic and community organizations.

The 2016 recipients are:

  • Gill P. Beck, United States Department of Justice, Asheville
  • Ashley H. Campbell, Ragsdale Liggett, Raleigh
  • Judge Richard L. Doughton, N.C. Superior Court, Sparta
  • Arnita M. Dula, City of Hickory, Hickory
  • Debra L. Foster, Debra L. Foster, PA, Charlotte
  • Jacqueline D. Grant, Roberts & Stevens, PA, Asheville
  • Sonny S. Haynes, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP, Winston-Salem
  • Marc L. Isaacson, Isaacson Isaacson Sheridan Fountain & Leftwich, LLP, Greensboro
  • Pamela W. McAfee, U.S Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of N.C., Raleigh
  • Judge Rickye McKoy-Mitchell, N.C. District Court, Charlotte
  • Nancy Black Norelli, Norelli Law PLLC, Charlotte
  • J. Troy Smith Jr., Ward and Smith, PA, New Bern
  • James R. Van Camp, Van Camp Meacham & Newman PLLC, Pinehurst

The honorees will be recognized at the 2016 NCBA Annual Meeting, scheduled June 23-26 at the Westin Charlotte.