Skip to main content

The Advocate’s Award

The Litigation Section is pleased to solicit nominations for the Advocate’s Award, to be conferred in June in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Litigation Section.

Criteria: The Advocate’s Award has been established to recognize members of the Litigation Section who are the “superstars” of our profession. The recipient of the award should:

  1. Have the highest ethical standards
  2. Have shown great skill and ability as a litigator/trial lawyer and commitment to the very best work product
  3. Demonstrate a true commitment of service to clients
  4. Demonstrate respect for and love of the law
  5. Be held in the highest regard by both bench and bar
  6. Be dedicated to the community and the bar with a track record of pro bono or volunteer service
  7. Serve as an example of how to effectively balance both outstanding professional performance and other life endeavors

Nominations Guidelines

Complete the form below to nominate an individual. Space is provided to describe the nominee’s practice and contributions to the practice of law. Please feel free to also upload documents detailing the nominee’s achievements, as well as letters of support related to the nominee’s law practice, community service and bar activities from attorneys and laypersons who know the nominee well (extensive information in this area is encouraged).

The award may be conferred and nominations may be made posthumously; nominees who do not receive the award may be considered for the award in subsequent years without being re-nominated; and nominees who are currently practicing must be a member of the Litigation Section to be considered for the award. Nominations are due by Friday, January 12, 2024.

You may be contacted by a member of the Advocate’s Award Committee about your nominee. The nomination and supporting information, and all communications, will be kept confidential.

Award | Litigation Section - Advocate's Award

Nominee Information

Maximum upload size: 52.43MB
Maximum upload size: 52.43MB

Contact Information for Person Submitting Nomination


Award Recipients

  • 2006 | Charles L. Becton
  • 2007 | J. Donald Cowan, Jr.
  • 2009 | H. Grady Barnhill, Jr.
  • 2010 | James T. Williams, Jr.
  • 2011 | Alan W. Duncan
  • 2012 | Charlie Blanchard
  • 2013 | A. Ward McKeithen
  • 2015 | James E. Ferguson II
  • 2016 | William F. Womble, Jr.
  • 2017 | Janet Ward Black
  • 2018 | Ted Fillette
  • 2020 | Catharine Arrowood
  • 2021 | John R. Wester
  • 2022 | Walter Brock
  • 2023 | Mark Merritt

Contact the NCBA Communities team